the life and times of she who shall remain nameless


final book project reflection
June 11, 2009, 7:05 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

i LOVED this project…and i hated it. i had a hard time figuring out what to do to have all 30 treatments for this project. the computer stuff was easier for me – i think i feel a LOT more comfortable behind a keyboard than i do behind a drawing pad FOR SURE! here’s a photo of the front of my finished book:

IMG_5956

i chose this image because i liked that it was just a plain silhouette of the subject and left the rest of the book free to explore what could be done to this flat black shape, so to speak.

my table of contents was also very basic:IMG_5957

some of my favorite treatments:IMG_5958

IMG_5959

 

IMG_5960

the last image was a happy accident – i had tried to make an ox-shaped puddle with food coloring but it didn’t work out. when i soaked it up with the paper towel, however, it was pretty groovy. i really love how the texture came out in the printing, too!

other handmade items included the lego ox above, a play-doh ox, and some handwritten stuff (among others!). as i said, i had a hard-ish time figuring out what to do, and found myself constantly using kitchen stuff! food, food coloring, candy…i tried very hard to limit how much of that went into my book, though.

the computer stuff came easier for me. i think my absolute favorite image is the one where i morphed an image of ox with a hoola hoop – i cut the the hoop out of a picture of my daughter and blended it into the ox picture. so cocol!

my favorite thing about this project, though, is that i now have a very hands-on, tangible ‘thing’ to hold that i made!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment